Frequently Asked Questions

What are the different categories of governor that make up a governing body?

All governing bodies have a core group of governors consisting of:

  • parent governors;
  • teacher governors;
  • staff governors;
  • LEA governors;
  • the Headteacher (acting in the capacity of a governor where this is his/her choice);

Governing bodies will also consist of some of the following governors, depending on the type of school:

  • community governors;
  • additional community governors;
  • representative governors;
  • foundation governors;
  • Partnership governors;
  • sponsor governors.

In addition, secondary schools will have associate pupil governors.

Further information about the different categories of governor can be found here


Posted May 8, 2008 by Doreen Jones

Is it a statutory requirement to have a representative from a minor authority (e.g. community Council) on a primary school governing body?

The Government of Maintained Schools (Wales) Regulations 2005
Regulation 20 – Maintained primary schools
(1) This regulation applies to— (a) any community, voluntary or foundation school which is a primary school, and. (b) any maintained nursery school,
which serves an area for which there are one or more community councils.

(2) The instrument of government of a school must provide for the governing body to include (in addition to the governors required by virtue of regulations 13, 14, 16, 18 and 19, as the case may be) one community governor nominated by the community council.

(3) If a school serves an area for which there are two or more community councils, the governing body may seek nominations from one or more of those councils.

Add a comment