Quality Mark Bronze Award - The Griffin Award

The Griffin Award was introduced to commemorate Mr Peter Griffin, the key founder of Governors Wales. Without his inspiration, hard work and determination in establishing the organisation to make it what it is today, Governors Wales would not exist. The role Peter played within Governors Wales bears testament to his integrity, wisdom and above all his passion and enthusiasm for school governance, ensuring that learners received the best possible chance in life. That is the fundamental principle of school governance.

It was on this foundation, therefore, that Governors Wales thought of a way in which we could recognise Peter’s vast contribution to school governance in Wales and celebrated the inaugural Griffin Award at Governors Wales’ AGM in Llandrindod Wells on Thursday 2nd July 2015.

The Griffin Award, which will undoubtedly change over time to reflect the ever changing Education sector, recognises those governing bodies that gained full marks for Part 1, the statutory obligations, and for Part 2, areas of good practice, in the Quality Mark Bronze Award – the benchmark against which governing bodies can assess their effectiveness via a form of self-review. The Bronze Award is centred around an audit of policy and procedural documentation requiring governing bodies to produce a portfolio of evidence designed to improve governing body effectiveness.

Of the 561 governing bodies that have registered for the Award since April 2012, 18 achieved full marks and were awarded the Griffin Award. Governors Wales would like to congratulate the following governing bodies for their achievement and are pleased to be able to acknowledge the hard work of the following:

  • Abercerdin Primary School, Bridgend
  • Markham Primary School, Caerphilly
  • Burry Port Community Primary School, Carmarthenshire
  • Ysgol Glan Gele, Conwy
  • Ysgol Talhaiarn, Conwy
  • Hawarden Village Church School, Flintshire
  • Trelewis Primary School, Merthyr Tydfil
  • Llandogo Primary School, Monmouthshire
  • Monmouth Comprehensive School, Monmouthshire
  • Rhos Primary School, Neath Port Talbot
  • Glasllwch Primary School, Newport
  • Builth Wells High School, Powys
  • Ton Pentre Junior School, Rhondda Cynon Taff
  • Darrenlas Primary School, Rhondda Cynon Taff
  • St Helen’s Primary School, Swansea
  • Pengelli Primary School, Swansea
  • Cadoxton Nursery School, Vale of Glamorgan
  • Victoria Primary School, Vale of Glamorgan

Governors Wales hopes that the award will go from strength to strength in future years, in whichever capacity, to celebrate the hard work and achievement of efficient governing bodies, and the crucial role they play in effective governance.


Add a comment