The Team


Peter Griffin OBE Honorary Life President

Peter Griffin had a lifetime’s experience of the education service in Wales and England. He was the former headteacher of a primary school and remained an active member of the National Union of Teachers, having served both as National Vice-President and National President before his retirement. He was Chair of the Cardiff Association of governors and a long-standing member of the Management Committee of Governors Wales, as well as the founding Chair.

Click here for article in the Western Mail

Terry O'Marah Chair

Terry qualified as a teacher in 1964 and taught in Flintshire and Clwyd, finally becoming the deputy head of Deeside High School. After 20 years in schools, he moved to work for Clwyd LEA. Over the next 20 years he worked as a school advisor, an area education officer, and then Manager of the joint Inspection/Advice Service for the four Unitary Authorities in North East Wales.

On retirement, Terry became a governor at John Summers High School and was subsequently elected Chair of the Flintshire Governors Association.

Terry was one of the first Independent Registered Inspectors to qualify in Wales, and led the inspections of a wide range of secondary schools across Wales.

Hugh Pattrick MBE Vice Chair

Hugh Pattrick is the Vice-Chair of Governors Wales and is one of the Powys representatives on its Management Committee. An active School Governor, Hugh is the current Chair of Governors at Ysgol Maesydderwen, Ystradgynlais and was also Chair of Governors at Ysgol Thomas Stephens, a small English medium village Primary School at Pontneddfechan until it was closed last August as part of the school reorganisation programme.

Allan Tait Secretary

Allan Tait has been a school governor since 1996. Currently, he is chair of governors at Nant Celyn Primary School and Pontnewydd Primary School, both in Cwmbran. He has represented Torfaen on the Governors Wales Management Committee since 1999.

Alan Speight Treasurer

Alan Speight has been a school governor since 1994. He is the chair of governors at Somerton Primary School and a governor at Ysgol Gymraeg Casnewydd. He chairs the Newport Association and has been a member of the GW management committee for the last four years.